Hey everyone, I'm Dan.

Status
Not open for further replies.

El DLo

So last night I stumbled upon this forum (to be honest I don't actually recall how as it was far later than I should have been awake). Well at first I was skeptical, thinking that it would be another message board full of closed-minded individuals that bash everything that they don't represent. To my surprise I discovered that this site is full of people of every religion and denomination of every religion. I never thought that in a place called "Theology Forum" I would find a place where I could freely post as an Atheist and not be automatically ridiculed for my beliefs.

That said, as my topic suggests, my name is Dan. I'm a tad younger than most people on this site are from what I can tell (I'm a freshman in college), but don't take that to mean that I'm ignorant to what I'm talking about. As you can see, my beliefs are rooted in science and reasoning as I am an Atheist. There are many Atheists out there who are blatantly ignorant and who take a stance of sheer superiority and closed-minded arrogance to the thoughts and beliefs of any other people. I am not one of those Atheists.

I make it an integral part of life to understand the beliefs and practices of other cultures. I come here, not as a rambunctious teenager who is dead-set on converting every last person to an Atheist, but as an educated young man who understands and respects the beliefs of all other people on here.

In a similar vein of understanding, I do not expect to have people attempt to convert me. I understand that beliefs are something that people hold dear, but I know, and everyone should know as well that religious beliefs in any form are something that a person has to find for themselves. Generally speaking, I have heard, read, and understand many of the ideals of several religions that people hold to be absolute truth, and they just don't do it to me.