How do we know which scriptures are inspired by God?

Elia

Bs"d

How do we know which scriptures are inspired by God? Is the Quran inspired by God? Or the book of Mormon? The Bhagavad Gita? The New Testament? The Old Testament?

How do we know what to believe in? What to accept, what to reject?

What criteria do you apply?

Nameless.In.Grace

BANNED
Banned
Bs"d

How do we know which scriptures are inspired by God? Is the Quran inspired by God? Or the book of Mormon? The Bhagavad Gita? The New Testament? The Old Testament?

Bs'd

As you know, it is Jewish tradition to defame the authenticity of the NT.

I grew up with this.

I searched the Historical evidence of the 27 NT scriptures.

I searched for people's writings about the New Testament that could have skewed them or guarded them.

I studied the Historical transmission of the NT.

As you know the Dead Sea scrolls changed a lot of things. The genuine transmission of the NT is seen to date back to 200 - 325 A.D.

The transmission can be methodically traced from John the Beloved to Polycarp.

The transmission continues past the date of 325 A.D. Through a historical guard of men that trace from Jesus to John in oral tradition and then the written tradition is traceable to as early as 95 A.D. Through Polycarp.

I don't like being lied to, and when I traced this, I was rather angry that I had been lied to about the N.T.

Josephus is another reference. Not for anything other than his writings about matters and there tie to NT events.

Lastly, a scholarly write up of how to test authenticity of scripture is usually of this sort:

The Biblical Manuscript Evidence. The manuscript evidence for the New Testament is stunning by comparison. The most recent count (1980) shows 5,366 separate Greek manuscripts. These are represented by early fragments, uncial codices (manuscripts written in all uppercase Greek letters and bound together in book form), and minuscules (manuscripts written in lowercase Greek letters).4